Totally Lost With News Columns Addon

All new Coranto Addons, updates and patches to addons, will be released here...also, get support for addons within!

Moderators: Spunkmeyer, Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

Totally Lost With News Columns Addon

Postby vbsouthern » Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:42 pm

From the posts I have read there seems to be quite a few ways to format columns with Coranto. My goal is to have each webpage in my public directory completely finished, that is to say, all the text in the page with no SSI tags visible to search engines.

The News Columns Addon may be the way to go but I can't seem to wrap my thick head around the concept. The Addon Documentation for News Columns reads as follows:
Build news into tabled columns.
News Columns adds only the <tr> </tr> <td> </td> tags. Place the <table> and </table> tags into your web page or template.

Sounds simple enough.

My Coranto Template has one line of code:
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">


In my Coranto Profile I have the News Columns set to this:
Build News Into Columns? [Yes(On)]
Number Of Columns: [2]
<tr> Tag Code: [<tr>]
<td> Tag Code: [<td>]


My Coranto Style has 142 lines of html code.
Code: Select all
<html>
<head>
<title><Field: CustomField_Title></title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1">
<meta name="description" content="<Field: CustomField_Description>">
<meta name="keywords" content="<Field: CustomField_Keywords>">
<meta name="author" content="<Field: CustomField_Author>">
<!-- ccs, java and so on. -->
</head>
<body>
<!-- A bunch of stuff above. -->

<!-- START: This is where I want the News Columns to be generated. -->
<table width="780" align="center" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="10">
<a href="<Field: CustomField_Subpage_Link>"><Field: Subject></a>
<Field: Text>
</table>
<!-- END: This is where I want the News Columns to be generated. -->

<!-- A bunch of stuff below. -->
</body>
</html>

This is the output:
Code: Select all
<table width="780" align="center" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="10">
<a href="<a href=""test_this.html>Test Page</a>">Link to Test Page</a>
<X-WYSIWYGv1.0><P>Just a little text to see how this works.</P>
</table>


The <tr> </tr> <td> </td> tags are not there. Also, my CustomField_Subpage_Link did not format correctly

Obviously I have done something wrong. Could someone please let me know what I did not do right.

VBSouthern
User avatar
vbsouthern
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 6:18 am
Location: Denver, Colorado USA

Postby SrNupsen » Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:03 pm

First, SSI being Server Side Includes they won't be visible to anybody anyway, even not search engines. The reason is that the include is done BEFORE the page is fed to anybody requesting it.

Now: You do realize that your style is prosessed once for EACH news item? So if you have let's say 7 news items in that profile, everything from the very first <html> tag will be added together 7 times creating a very odd looking (and highly non-functional) web page?


I suspect you have one news item that you are trying to present nicely in a table, is that so? And if not, could you please elaborate a little more what you are trying to do?

SrNupsen

PS. For your CustomField_Subpage_Link not formatting correctly, you probably have the field's auto parse URLs options set to "Yes". Try setting it to "No".
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby vbsouthern » Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:27 am

Thanks for your reply. I was able to get things working. Never did figure out the News Columns Addon. Instead I used a template with two SSI tags in it to make the columns. Then created two profiles to input the info.

I have this habit of making thing way harder then they need to be.

Thanks for your offer to help. :)

VBSouthern
User avatar
vbsouthern
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 6:18 am
Location: Denver, Colorado USA


Return to Addon Release and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron