RSS File Advanced / Maginot Problem

All new Coranto Addons, updates and patches to addons, will be released here...also, get support for addons within!

Moderators: Spunkmeyer, Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

RSS File Advanced / Maginot Problem

Postby Max Zorno » Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:26 pm

I am running a medium size blog (approx. 300 entries as of today). I am experiencing a RSS problem that seems to have something to do with Maginot.

Problem summary

RSS-Page links urls are not created properly. I get incorrect values for <Field: Year> and <Field: TwoDigitMonth> when I use these fields in the RSS Item Link.


Basic information about my system setup

I use Maginot for creating single pages for each entry.

I write those pages to monthly directories:

http://zorno.de/tagebuch/eintraege/2005-11/
http://zorno.de/tagebuch/eintraege/2005-12/
http://zorno.de/tagebuch/eintraege/2006-01/


In the Maginot Static Settings I have specified following fields:
File Path: /www/zorno/htdocs/tagebuch/eintraege/<Field: Year>-<Field: TwoDigitMonth>
Static Field: newstime
File Extension: .html

My http document root is /www/zorno/htdocs/

Therefore following files are created:
http://zorno.de/tagebuch/eintraege/<Field: Year>-<Field: TwoDigitMonth>/<Field: newstime>.html

Example:
http://zorno.de/tagebuch/eintraege/2006 ... 05204.html

So far so good.

In my RSS File Profile I specify the file path accordingly:
Item Link: http://www.zorno.de/tagebuch/eintraege/<Field: Year>-<Field: TwoDigitMonth>/<Field: newstime>.html

The problem

Both RSS modules ('RSS File' and 'RSS File Advanced') replace <Field: Year> and <Field: TwoDigitMonth> with incorrect values. Every result is one month behind the current date - regardless of the true creation date of the news. Now in January 2006 <Field: Year> is "2005" and <Field: TwoDigitMonth> is "12". Next month in February <Field: Year> will be "2006" and <Field: TwoDigitMonth> will be "01".

The funny thing: Until April 2005 everything worked fine - but then the system stopped working properly from one day to the other. If you set back your system clock to a date in 2004 and try my settings with news entries from that time, everything will work fine. If you write new entries (dated after April 2005 and later) you will experience my described problem.

I tested Coranto, Maginot and the RSS modules on 2 different systems (Win32 and Linux - both with different versions of Perl) - and every time I encountered the problem.

My conclusion: It has nothing to do with the operating system and with Perl. But IMHO it has something to do with the combination of RSS File and Maginot.

Has anyone experienced a similar problem and knows how to fix it?

My Coranto versions:

- Coranto 1.24
- Maginot build 16
- RSS File Advanced beta build 5d
- RSS File beta build 4
Max Zorno
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:15 pm

Re: RSS File Advanced / Maginot Problem

Postby Parahead » Thu Jan 12, 2006 7:25 pm

Max Zorno wrote:My conclusion: It has nothing to do with the operating system and with Perl. But IMHO it has something to do with the combination of RSS File and Maginot.
It sounds more like a RSS Advanced problem than Maginot, since the Maginot files are created correctly but the RSS files link wrong? Anyway, there is another resent report of a similar/same problem here. Since the RSS advanced addon is created by cerberos76 which no longer is active it is free for anyone to step in and investigate that addon and figure out why this happens...
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden

Postby shanemckiness » Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:38 am

I have similar problem, and so i cannot us the RSS programs here. It seems RSS advanced cannot handle multiple Fields in a link name for some reason.

-Shane
http://www.epicsff.com Epic Science Fiction & Fantasy Online Magazine
shanemckiness
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:14 pm

Postby SrNupsen » Fri Jan 13, 2006 10:39 am

Somebody should write a new RSS addon. Should be relatively easy knowing the specifications.

You should also keep in mind that it's also easy to make your own RSS file based on a normal Coranto style, if you read a little on XML specs.

SrNupsen
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Parahead » Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:25 pm

SrNupsen wrote:Somebody should write a new RSS addon. Should be relatively easy knowing the specifications.

You should also keep in mind that it's also easy to make your own RSS file based on a normal Coranto style, if you read a little on XML specs.
So basically no specific RSS addon is needed but instead sombody could just post a template/style pair which could be used to produce a RSS feed. Or simply open up some RSS feed from another site and use that as an example?
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden

Postby shanemckiness » Sat Jan 14, 2006 6:17 pm

In theory, maginot should do it as good as the addon. I've tried with maginot, but I can't get it to work 'yet'. Any ideas? I don't know if the coranto styles lets me post these in the style....I don't get anything in the file it makes for some reason.

Style
Code: Select all
 <PerlCode>
$CurrentMonth = (localtime(time))[4];
next unless ($CurrentMonth == $Month);
</PerlCode>
<item>
<title><Field: Subject></title>
<description><Field: CustomField_short></description>
<link>
http://www.epicsff.com/articles/<Field: TwoDigitYear>/<Field: TwoDigitMonth>/<Field: CustomField_filename>/index.php
</link>
</item>


Template
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" ?>
<rss version="2.0">
<channel>
<title>EpicSFF</title>
<description>Epic Science Fiction & Fantasy new articles, interviews, and reviews. A non-fiction site.</description>
<link>http://www.epicsff.com/</link>

<Field: Content>

</channel>
</rss>
shanemckiness
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:14 pm

Postby Parahead » Sat Jan 14, 2006 7:38 pm

shanemckiness wrote:In theory, maginot should do it as good as the addon.
What type of Maginot Profile are you using? I don't understand why you would need a Maginot profile to create a RSS feed in the first place, a normal profile would be a better choice? Or am I missing something?

shanemckiness wrote:I don't get anything in the file it makes for some reason.
And what does this mean exactly, a totaly empty file? If you remove it, is it recreated during the build?
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden

Postby shanemckiness » Sat Jan 14, 2006 8:13 pm

Hmm. Regular would work well. Im not really used to dealing with regular since all I use is maginot pages...

For what I did, the creation is an empty file. The file is built fine. I can delete it and it will rebuild itself, but no news or anything (its a blank file) is inside it. Ill try a regular profile later and see what I get.
shanemckiness
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:14 pm

Postby shanemckiness » Sat Jan 14, 2006 8:38 pm

Maginot static files needs to be used because you need to have

This at the top (or similar coding)
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" ?>
<rss version="2.0">
<channel>
<title></title>
<description></description>
<link></link>

this at the bottom
Code: Select all
</channel>
</rss>

and these in the middle (only these reoccur)
Code: Select all
<item>
<title></title>
<description></description>
<link></link>
</item>

If you put all these in a regular profile, they all will reoccur with each bit of news, when only the ITEMS should reoccur.

Shane

Im sure the ITEMS can be made with th eprofile and included php/ssi/java in document with the top and bottm parts, but Im not sure if INCLUDES should be used for rss feeds. This may create alot of server strain do do blogging programs constantly accessing these files.
shanemckiness
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:14 pm

Postby Parahead » Sun Jan 15, 2006 1:27 pm

shanemckiness wrote:If you put all these in a regular profile, they all will reoccur with each bit of news, when only the ITEMS should reoccur.

Im sure the ITEMS can be made with th eprofile and included php/ssi/java in document with the top and bottm parts, but Im not sure if INCLUDES should be used for rss feeds. This may create alot of server strain do do blogging programs constantly accessing these files.
A Maginot Static Profile puts *one* newsitem in *one* file, is that really what you want to do, it doesn't look like so to me? In a normal profile, just use styles for the reoccuring stuff and a template for the top/bottom section?

However, the problem with a normal profile is that the extension can't be defined on a per-profile basis (and you would use RSS as extension), so either you set the extension you want to use globally for template output files in the general settings of Coranto or you take a look at this thread. *Or* if you do want to keep using Maginot, I would suggest using a Maginot *Sliced* profile based on Category or some similar field, so that you can have more than one newsitem in your output...
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden

Postby shanemckiness » Sun Jan 15, 2006 7:19 pm

I tried to use templates in a regular profile, but it didnt work. As to using sliced, I'm not sure how to use them. I'm used to static split. I'll try to mess around with it more tonight.
shanemckiness
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:14 pm

Postby Parahead » Sun Jan 15, 2006 8:00 pm

shanemckiness wrote:I tried to use templates in a regular profile, but it didnt work.
Using templates in a normal profile is just like using templates in a Maginot profile. I can't really help you based on "didn't work", though...

shanemckiness wrote:As to using sliced, I'm not sure how to use them. I'm used to static split. I'll try to mess around with it more tonight.
But just because you are used to Static Profiles doesn't mean you can use it for every problem at hand... Its like saying "I am used to using hammer so lets cut down a tree with it." ;-)
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden


Return to Addon Release and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron