Possible to rename viewnews.cgi?

Is Coranto not working properly for you? Here's where to ask for support help; for best results, follow these steps:
  • - Check your core/addon documentation for possible solutions
  • - Search these forums for similar problems that have already been solved
  • - If you're still stumped, check out THIS TOPIC, and post your question in this forum!!

Moderators: Spunkmeyer, Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

Possible to rename viewnews.cgi?

Postby AvengR » Tue May 20, 2003 12:12 pm

Hi. I really want to rename the viewnews.cgi file to something like show.cgi or if possible show.php (last one only if possible)...

It's clearly not enough to just rename it, I need to do something more. Anyone know what I need to do so it will work?
AvengR
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 12:09 pm

Postby kriko » Tue May 20, 2003 12:19 pm

rename it to index.html if you want ;)

but if you want it to work, it has to have the engind .cgi, and why would you want to name it to .php? this is a perl/cgi script, not php!

rename it to show.cgi, go ahead! :) it will work
Kristjan aka. kriko
now a wireless expert
User avatar
kriko
 
Posts: 3328
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 8:13 pm

Postby AvengR » Tue May 20, 2003 1:54 pm

Ehh.. It doesnt. All i get is a script-error!
AvengR
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 12:09 pm

Postby kriko » Tue May 20, 2003 2:21 pm

url and the error it gives to you, now this is impossible, if it works as viewnews.cgi it should work as everything.cgi
Kristjan aka. kriko
now a wireless expert
User avatar
kriko
 
Posts: 3328
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 8:13 pm

Postby msbzdragn » Tue May 20, 2003 9:51 pm

Yep, quite a few people in the past have used renamed copies of viewnews for things like print-friendly formatting of items, etc.
Michael R. Tomkins
Administrator, 'Unofficial Coranto / NewsPro Forums'

Mitsubishi Diamante Forum

Do NOT send me instant messages asking for Coranto help without me telling you explicitly to do so. You WILL be placed on ignore if you do so; I don't have time to provide personal tech support to every person who IM's me. Sorry!
User avatar
msbzdragn
 
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 4:51 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN

Postby AvengR » Wed May 21, 2003 11:07 am

Hehe, CHMODDING the new file was kindof smart :P

Thanks anyways
AvengR
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 12:09 pm

Postby InSAnE NiNjA » Wed May 21, 2003 6:08 pm

also if you want to (for url visual purposes) have different copies of viewnews.cgi with a different default template set inside them..
its possible

fullnews.cgi
printer.cgi

also something else for maginot settings...

<link rel="alternate" media="print" href="/cgi-bin/coranto/printer.cgi?newsid=<Field: newsid>">
for the style

<link rel="alternate" media="print" href="/cgi-bin/coranto/printer.cgi?newsid=<?=$id?>">
for php if your setup that way

if that line still works in IE/NS.. it should print a printer friendly version of the item (that you set up in a template) when you tell the browser to print the page
User avatar
InSAnE NiNjA
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:35 am


Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron