Problems after moving to a new server

Is Coranto not working properly for you? Here's where to ask for support help; for best results, follow these steps:
  • - Check your core/addon documentation for possible solutions
  • - Search these forums for similar problems that have already been solved
  • - If you're still stumped, check out THIS TOPIC, and post your question in this forum!!

Moderators: Spunkmeyer, Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

Problems after moving to a new server

Postby Neileagle » Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:17 pm

I've just moved one of my sites across to a new development server and will be doing several more soon. All went well on my first attempt, except I can't get the Search & Replace addon to function properly... it causes the error below, yet if I disable it everything works fine.

It still seem to be expecting the file at the old server address, but I've updated all the file locations and they are correct, as far as I can see.

Here's the error msg in full... any pointers gratefully received...


______________
Unable to open /home/aboutthyme/cgi-bin/searchandreplace.txt. No such file or directory at crcore.pl line 281, <FH> line 1.

If this error indicates a problem that you don't know how to solve, see the Coranto documentation and FAQ. If these resources don't help, make a (detailed!) post to the Coranto Forum.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

USEFUL INFORMATION

Perl may have generated the following error: No such file or directory
Perl Version: 5.008008
Script Version: 1.24
Script Build: 39
Script RC: 0
Script URL: http://www.aboutthyme.co.uk/cgi-bin/coranto.cgi
@INC:
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8/i386-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.7/i386-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.6/i386-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.5/i386-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.7
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.6
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.5
/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl
/usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.8/i386-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.7/i386-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.6/i386-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.5/i386-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.8
/usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.7
/usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.6
/usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.5
/usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl
/usr/lib/perl5/5.8.8/i386-linux-thread-multi
/usr/lib/perl5/5.8.8
.
Script Location (Method 1): coranto.cgi
Script Location (Method 2): /var/www/vhosts/aboutthyme.co.uk/cgi-bin

ENVIRONMENT VARIABLES
SCRIPT_NAME: /cgi-bin/coranto.cgi
SERVER_NAME: www.aboutthyme.co.uk
HTTP_REFERER: http://www.aboutthyme.co.uk/cgi-bin/cor ... ddonenable
SERVER_ADMIN:
HTTP_ACCEPT_ENCODING: gzip, deflate
HTTP_CONNECTION: Keep-Alive
REQUEST_METHOD: GET
HTTP_ACCEPT: image/gif, image/x-xbitmap, image/jpeg, image/pjpeg, application/x-shockwave-flash, application/vnd.ms-excel, application/msword, */*
SCRIPT_FILENAME: /var/www/vhosts/aboutthyme.co.uk/cgi-bin/coranto.cgi
SERVER_SOFTWARE: Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)
QUERY_STRING: session=ctaijkajcioQFeTKCM&x=394&action=generate
REMOTE_PORT: 3037
HTTP_USER_AGENT: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)
SERVER_PORT: 80
HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE: en-gb
REMOTE_ADDR: 86.7.149.134
SERVER_PROTOCOL: HTTP/1.1
PATH: /usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin
REQUEST_URI: /cgi-bin/coranto.cgi?session=ctaijkajcioQFeTKCM&x=394&action=generate
GATEWAY_INTERFACE: CGI/1.1
SERVER_ADDR: 87.239.16.50
DOCUMENT_ROOT: /var/www/vhosts/aboutthyme.co.uk/httpdocs
HTTP_HOST: www.aboutthyme.co.uk

MESSAGE: Unable to open /home/aboutthyme/cgi-bin/searchandreplace.txt. No such file or directory at crcore.pl line 281, <FH> line 1.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Neileagle
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: UK

Re: Problems after moving to a new server

Postby SrNupsen » Sat Apr 19, 2008 11:59 am

Neileagle wrote:It still seem to be expecting the file at the old server address, but I've updated all the file locations and they are correct, as far as I can see.


Well, if it says the file isn't there, then the old path is still stored somewhere. I recommend using a search and replace tool to see where it is, or looking manually inside nsettings.cgi, nsbk.cgi, cra_searchandreplace.pl, searchandreplace.pl and/or whatever.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Neileagle » Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:18 am

Thanks for the reply. All made sense.

However, I am still having loads of trouble, which I'm investigating with the server company.

Assuming it's not them, can I ask another (kinda related) question please?

If I install the latest version of Coranto from new (instead of trying to get the old one working, then upgrading), can I then *easily* import all the news, users, settings, news categories, Search & replace glossary into the new version?

If so, is there a guide somewhere, I tried searching the forum the other day but probably wasn't very specfic in my terms.
Neileagle
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: UK

Postby SrNupsen » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:55 am

Look here for upgrade instructions.

But please, do backup your data first :)

This should preserve everything (news, users, data, even addons and addon settings)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Neileagle » Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:07 pm

Thanks, so I take it I can apply that in reverse, i.e. overwrite all the files except those listed.
Neileagle
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: UK

Postby SrNupsen » Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:26 pm

Yeah, sounds good. Sorry I kind of got it backwards :)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Neileagle » Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:20 pm

Right, still having a problem. here's the steps I've undertaken:

I've loaded on Coranto 1.25 (plus addons) and gone through setup, all working OK.

Then I've uploaded the news directory, search & replace glossary and the following files (i.e. the reverse of the link provided):
archive.tmpl
crcfg.dat
nsettings.cgi (after manually correcting filepaths as instructed)
nsbk.cgi (after manually correcting filepaths as instructed)
viewnews.tmpl

But now the addon manager is saying 'No Addons Found'...

First I tried to re-upload the addons, then checked the lines in nsbk.cgi and nsettings.cgi that mention Addons and these have not been changed in any way. See below...

(nsettings)
AddonsLoaded``xcra_searchandreplace.pl~cra_modifyusercol.pl~cra_ncategory.pl~cra_changedatenew.pl~cra_backup.pl

(nsbk)
AddonsLoaded``xcra_backup.pl~cra_ncategory.pl~cra_searchandreplace.pl~cra_changedatenew.pl

I've noticed that the lines are not identical nor in the same order, could this be caused the problem?

I confess I'm well out my depth here.
Neileagle
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: UK

Postby Neileagle » Wed Apr 23, 2008 1:50 pm

Sorry I should add that I can't use the otherwise helpful instructions for moving servers in the documentation, with regard to replacing old paths, as my server company appears to be VERY strict indeed!
Neileagle
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: UK

Postby SrNupsen » Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:56 pm

Did you copy and paste those lines from nsbk.cgi/nsettings.cgi? Looks like you have some weird line breaks in there.

If not, could it be that your old Coranto version required addons to be in another directory?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Neileagle » Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:26 pm

Yes, that was a cut and paste thing... they are in one long line in the files. Could linebreaks be causing this problem as I've simply been editing the files in notepad. Is there a better tool I could use (bearing in mind I can't use the server side option)?

The previous version of Coranto was 1.24 and didn't require addons in a seperate directory on the old server which is what is baffling me.
Neileagle
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: UK

Postby SrNupsen » Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:26 pm

Hm. I'm baffled too. Notepad is alright as long as you turn off the wrapping of long lines. Check permissions, try copying an addon to "addons" sub-directory, look in settings for addon path... I really don't know, sorry :cry:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Neileagle » Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:30 pm

Thanks very much for your time and trouble, SrN.

I'm going to have another playaround tonight, but not holding out much hope... my gut feeling is that the problem lies in the way I'm editing the paths in the nsbk.cgi and nsettings.cgi files. Everything seems fine up to the point that I upload these two files again.

It's not the biggest installation in the world, so I think I'm just going to have to reset up the News Cats, Profiles and everything else manually. And at least there is no problems in copying over the news. Sadly I have probably another dozen or so to do which are much bigger, so was hoping for a quick fix.

If I have any joy, I'll get back to you.
Neileagle
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: UK

Postby Neileagle » Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:22 pm

Well, well, well...

It works.

It really helps when you can tell the difference between launching Notepad and Wordpad.

Thanks again, SrNupsen, you pointed me in the right direction to overcome what will one day, I'm sure, become my own terminal stupidity.

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Coranto is a fantastic bit of kit - I salute you all.
Neileagle
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: UK

Postby SrNupsen » Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:36 pm

Hey, glad you solved it!

Check back again if you run into anything else :D
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Neileagle » Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:41 pm

I'm testing the new build to destruction, at the moment...

And all is good! 8)
Neileagle
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: UK

Next

Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron