How news headlines display and the full article displays

Discuss news styles, css code, and other Coranto customizations in here...the possibilities are endless, so have at it!

Moderator: Spunkmeyer

Maginot Settings

Postby Abpadmin » Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:08 pm

Biginning to get some parts working, but I still have questions on how to set up the maginot. On the Maginot setting page here is the folowing:

Display Name Understand
File Path this is the deafult path when coranto was installed which in my case is a directory in the root of the website called newsfiles
Directory URL I'm not understanding what is needed here
Base URL again, not understanding
Filter by Time Understand
Filter by Number Understand
Skip Understand
Categories Understand
News Styles Understand

Under Advanced Setting
File Privleges Understand
html template Understand
html file style Dont Understand
Sort Order Understand

Under Maginot Static Page Settings
Static type don't Understand
Static Field not for sure
Lowercase Static/Slice Field Don't Understand
Name it index.html Don't understand
Use the static/slice field Don't Understand
file extension don't understand
maximum field length Dont understand
Abpadmin
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:40 pm
Location: missouri

Still trying

Postby Abpadmin » Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:31 am

I have posted my problems, but no seems to be responding with very good help.

I am using coranto 1.24b and Maginot Line Build 17 by Parahead, 2006-04-15

I have been trying to follow the instructions at http://www.sumaleth.com/coranto/ct_headlines.html

on step 3 Create A Maginot News Profile
I have done this and named mine healthnews

it is enabled, but on step 4 Edit the Profile his instructions are to edit general settings, I don't have this option, all I have is Edit Maginot Static Settings. So I have chose the option that I have and have made changes as instructed. The question I have is I put in the directory URL the http://mysitename/newsfiles, is this correct?

Step 5: Create a Headline Profile. named mine herd_health, followed rest of instructions and saved.

Step 6: Edit the prodile. followed these instructions and everything is OK

Step 7: Edit The Style: WILL NOT WORK

the line that is in my default_headline_style is:

<strong><a href="http://www.americanbeefproducer.com/cgi/coranto/viewnews.cgi?id=<Field: newsid>"><br><br><Field: Subject></a></strong>

but if I use the following line

<strong><a href="<MaginotURL: Maginot_healthnews_profile>" target="_blank"><Field: Subject></a></strong> - <span class="desc"><Field: Month_Name> <Field: Month_Day></span><br>

After doing all of this if I build news I get an error message of:

Error: Invalid Maginot Static Profile 'Maginot_healthnews_profile' used in a MaginotURL-tag in style 'DefaultHeadline'. Make sure the profile name is correct and that the profile is enabled.

It is enabled.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!
Abpadmin
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:40 pm
Location: missouri

Postby SrNupsen » Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:12 am

The Maginot profile you created is called healthnews, right?

Then you shouldn't use <MaginotURL: Maginot_healthnews_profile> - but <MaginotURL: healthnews>
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

different error

Postby Abpadmin » Tue Apr 22, 2008 3:58 pm

I corrected the maginot coding and my default headlines now read:

<strong><a href="<MaginotURL: healthnews>" target="_blank"><Field: Subject></a></strong> - <span class="desc"><Field: Month_Name> <Field: Month_Day></span><br>

When I highlight the news item it shows the following:

http://www.americanbeefproducer.com/new ... cQTaA.html

When I look in the newsfile directory of my website I don't see the html file shown here. Instead I get the HTTP 404 not found error.

Like I mentioned in the last post, I followed the instructions, but I must have missed something.

I did create the new template as the instructions said and it is a copy of the viewnews.tmpl and it is named news.tmpl and the healthnews profile is set to use the news.tmpl

What did I miss or what else needs to be done?
Abpadmin
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:40 pm
Location: missouri

what needs correcting

Postby Abpadmin » Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:20 pm

after my last post, I submitted a new newsitem, it shows up just like it is supposed to and when I select it, it opens up in a new window and it does display. However the original news item still gives the http 404 not found error.

Also the latest news story has some bold heading in the story, is the an addon editor for coranto that will allow easier editing and entering of news stories?

Where is a good example or tutorial or editing or creating the template for the news item to display?

Thanks
Abpadmin
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:40 pm
Location: missouri

Postby SrNupsen » Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:52 pm

Try a full rebuild to make your original news item show. Did you check out the tutorials and the other documentation in Dale Ray's wiki?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

documentation

Postby Abpadmin » Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:29 pm

Look at Dale Ray's wiki and it will be helpful.

Look at some of the addons, is there one for editing news stories to create bold, italic or underlined text or links?

If their is, which one is the most popular?
Abpadmin
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:40 pm
Location: missouri

Postby SrNupsen » Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:26 pm

There is an addon called Web Writer that will replace the text field with a Microsoft Word-like editor where you can create bold/italic/undelrined text, insert hyperlinks and images etc.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

may be about to get it to work

Postby Abpadmin » Wed Apr 23, 2008 4:15 pm

If I can have any html coding I wish, and if i set a page up as a template that looks like the rest of the pages in my site and I want the full news story to appear in the area that is now showing the headlines, what coding do I put in the place of the coding that I have now which is:

<span style="font-family: arial; font-size: 10px;">
<!--#include virtual="newsfiles/herd_health-headlines.txt" -->
</span>
Abpadmin
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:40 pm
Location: missouri

still trying to get a tmpl to work

Postby Abpadmin » Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:46 pm

I am confused here.

in deafault style I have the following code:

<p><strong><Field: Subject></strong><br><br>
<Field: Text></p>

in the default headline style I have:

<strong><a href="<MaginotURL: healthnews>" target="_blank"><Field: Subject></a></strong> - <span class="desc"><Field: Month_Name> <Field: Month_Day></span><br><br>

Here is where I am confused, in my news.tmpl file I have edited it to have a background color the same as my other pages, but when I select the news the page background is still white.

I know that it has to be something I have not entered or not setup correctly. What did I miss?
Abpadmin
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:40 pm
Location: missouri

Still trying

Postby Abpadmin » Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:14 am

I have tried changing the background color in viewnews.tmpl and news.tmpl and none of my news items show up with the background color I want.

Now, I might also add that I am using webwriter v3.2 and it works great, thanks for the info on it.

Where do I need to change what? each news item does have its own unique id# and creates an html file for each news item.
Abpadmin
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:40 pm
Location: missouri

Postby Jackanape » Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:58 am

Can you post your template? It sounds as though you might be using a call to CSS from within your template, but I'd like to take a look at the whole thing before I make too deep of a stab at it.
A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly.
Specialization is for insects.
-Robert A. Heinlein
User avatar
Jackanape
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:15 am
Location: Capitol of the Great State of New York

templates

Postby Abpadmin » Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:40 am

this is the code in my news.tmpl and viewnews.tmpl

<html><head><title><Field: Title></title></head>
<body bgcolor="#90A888">
<Field: Content>

</body></html>


I have the following profiles that I think are being used at present (I have 2 news items that I am experimenting with until I get everything set and working)

news category: herd_health

under manage profiles I have:
herd_health is a standard profile using herd_health category and news style of default
enable headlines is set to no
and under the advanced part the html template is set to news.tmpl

The other profile is


healthnewsand it is a maginot static
under directory URL I have http://www.mywebsite.com/newsfiles
category is herd_health
news style is default
under advanced profile setting
html template is set to news.tmpl
html file title is <Field: StaticValue>
under the maginot static page settings
static type: use the static/slice field
static field: newsid
file extension: html
the other field between the static field and file extension do not show that they can be changed.

in the webwriter settings the only there is an option to set an external CSS which mine is blank right now.

The only thing that I haven't done is edit my viewnews.cgi and change the viewnews to news.

This is the way that everything is currently set. News headlines appear on the pages and then when I select the news it does open up into a new window.

I am trying to figure out the template and so I started with just changing to a colored background, but that didn't work.

I really appreciate the help and assistance.
Abpadmin
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:40 pm
Location: missouri

Postby Jackanape » Thu Apr 24, 2008 12:27 pm

Now, I will rely on someone to correct me, but I don't use viewnews.cgi with my Maginot profiles...this may be part of the problem you're running into?

Here's an example of what I'm using for a maginot static template, called news.tmpl:
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en">
<!-- Created on: 10/8/2006 -->
<html>
<head>
  <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
  <title><Field: Title></title>
  <meta name="description" content="">
  <meta name="keywords" content="">
  <meta name="author" content="Jackanapesink">
  <meta name="generator" content="AceHTML 6 Pro">
  <link href="elnews.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
</head>
<body>

<div id="banner">
<Field: Subject>
</div>
<div id="corner"></div>
<div id="date">
<!--#config timefmt="%B %Y"-->
<!--#echo var="DATE_LOCAL"-->
</div>
<div id="logo"></div>   
<div id="blueband">   
</div>

<div id="bluebox">
</div>

<div id="box">

<div id="content">
   
<div id="sb1"></div>
<div id="sb2"></div>
<h1><Field: Subject></h1>
<p><Field: Text></p>

</div>
<br style="{clear: all;}" />
<div id="siteinfo">
   <p id="copyrights">copyright &copy 2006  - all rights reserved &nbsp; | &nbsp;<a href="http://jackanapesink.com">Site Design by JACKANAPESINK</a></p>
   </div>     
</div>
</body>
</html>


You'll see I use <Field:title> for my page title, and I style the page with an external css file, located in the /news directory. The rest is all in the
<h1><Field: Subject></h1>
<p><Field: Text></p>

You could also embed the css in your head, with the <style></style> tags.

I think the problem you're having is in trying to use viewnews.cgi when you don't need to. Give the above try, and let me know how it works.
Last edited by Jackanape on Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly.
Specialization is for insects.
-Robert A. Heinlein
User avatar
Jackanape
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:15 am
Location: Capitol of the Great State of New York

question

Postby Abpadmin » Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:41 pm

Jackanape,

You showed the code that you use for your news.tmpl file. Did you see anything in my profiles or styles that needs to be corrected?

As I keep going thru the documentation I thought that the viewnews.cgi was used for displaying the news. But is what you are saying is that the coding that you are using in your news.tmpl doesn't even look at viewnews.cgi? If this is true then that would make it easier to have different style of templates for different news items.

For me getting coranto setup and working has been very challenging, but I can certainly say that as I keep going thru everything it it a very powerful program that can do many things. I'll be glad when I get it figured out and working.
Abpadmin
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:40 pm
Location: missouri

PreviousNext

Return to Customization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron