[REQUEST] Spaces in Username

All notes and input on 2.0 Development are herein. <ul><li>Feature requests</li>
<li>Bug Reports</li>
<li>Beta Testing Feedback</li>
<li>Open Dev Discussion</li></ul>

Moderator: Coranto Moderator Team

Postby InSAnE NiNjA » Sun Jul 13, 2003 2:53 pm

create a userfield, so that they can enter a name in there, same place that they change their email

administration > edit userfields > create new user field
..nuttier then a squirrel turd..
User avatar
InSAnE NiNjA
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:35 am

Postby InSAnE NiNjA » Sun Jul 13, 2003 3:04 pm

doublepost, dsl is being annoying at the moment
Last edited by InSAnE NiNjA on Sun Jul 13, 2003 3:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
..nuttier then a squirrel turd..
User avatar
InSAnE NiNjA
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:35 am

Postby dotcom22_ » Sun Jul 13, 2003 3:06 pm

yes i see where...but this are nothing to do with username and password login...

When i create a new user i must set the username without name
like that : my-name

but with name like:

my_name or myname

..so is here the problem not in userfield info...

..sorry if am wrong..but i don't undestand...
Thanks in advance and best regards

Dotcom22
dotcom22_
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 11:52 am

Postby InSAnE NiNjA » Sun Jul 13, 2003 3:17 pm

the whole idea is that your "faking" the username

so that the display name can be changed to look like whatever, without chaing the login name
..nuttier then a squirrel turd..
User avatar
InSAnE NiNjA
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:35 am

Postby dotcom22_ » Sun Jul 13, 2003 4:09 pm

...i think is my fault am not clear when i explain...sorry..

Actually i must create 20 news users for coranto. I need to know if i can set the username using name like : my-username

Apparently not so what solution i have for try to do that ??

I really need to create user using username allready create for other script...and some of this username are similar to:
any-name and not similar to anyname or any_name

So if i can not get any possibility to do that using coranto, i must place somewhere in the LOGIN page a warning message for my users like:
Warning, for login into this special section you must use the allready provided username putting underscore. Other section of website use standard username without undescore. If your username are in only one word, this advert is not for you et you can log normally.

i hope you see what i mean..

thanks..
Thanks in advance and best regards

Dotcom22
dotcom22_
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 11:52 am

Postby InSAnE NiNjA » Sun Jul 13, 2003 6:07 pm

Code: Select all
<If: Field: UserField_PostingName>
    <Field: UserField_PostingName>
<If: Else>
    <Field: User>
</If>


get the idea?
..nuttier then a squirrel turd..
User avatar
InSAnE NiNjA
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:35 am

Postby dotcom22_ » Sun Jul 13, 2003 6:10 pm

yes....but in witch file i must introduce this code, please ??
Thanks in advance and best regards

Dotcom22
dotcom22_
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 11:52 am

Postby InSAnE NiNjA » Sun Jul 13, 2003 6:13 pm

this has nothing to do with editing files, that goes in the posting style
..nuttier then a squirrel turd..
User avatar
InSAnE NiNjA
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:35 am

Postby dotcom22_ » Sun Jul 13, 2003 6:39 pm

ok but the style have nothing to do with login permission...or not ??

like you have explain me you say putting the code you have provide me, in the style setting of my news..or headline...a user custom field can be displayed at the place of user field....

...but me is not that i need...i only need to login with username containing special character like -



....
Thanks in advance and best regards

Dotcom22
dotcom22_
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 11:52 am

Postby faithless » Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:45 am

i realise this is going no where for dotcom22.
InSAnE NiNjA aint exactly helping. :wink:

dotcom22: the idea is that your users' logins must be compliant to coranto. and must strictly follow the restrictions. that means you can't have names like your proposed my-username or chinese eastern languages user logins.

the idea here is that you still stick to the strict login names, however, you have another field called "Custom_Display_Name" (note. this is just an example. you can call it "my_foolbar" and the idea will still work)

then in your news, instead of displaying the default field "User", you use the "Custom_Display_Name" instead. so they can actually specify eastern languages names and other stuff without breaking coranto.
it's sort of like your email account (whatever@ilovegates.com) and the name it's displayed (faithless) when the reciepient gets the mail. get it?

the code
Code: Select all
<If: Field: UserField_PostingName>
    <Field: Custom_Display_Name>
<If: Else>
    <Field: User>
</If>

is there to provide for those who have not filled in their Custom_Display_Name field. ergo defaulting to their actual login names.

the above code goes into your news style. where the stuff btw the <If>s and <Else> is simply for what to display if the Field is filled in and otherwise what to display.

have fun.
faithless
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 4:17 pm
Location: Infront of the Computer

Postby SrNupsen » Mon Jul 14, 2003 5:51 pm

I don't think any of you guys are helping at all :P

What he wants is not a way to display the full username in his NEWS, but notifying (for example) the user Bernhard-Shaw ON THE LOGIN SCREEN that he has to use username Bernhard_Shaw (with an underscore) to log on.

I think you could squeeze it in somewhere in crcore.pl, but DO make a backup first. It uses a sub called SimpleConfirmationPage to display...erm...simple confirmation pages. Snoop around.

MrNupsen
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby dotcom22_ » Mon Jul 14, 2003 7:09 pm

hi guys

many thanks for trying to help me...

ok the only solution i have find is to make a simple html page with Warning message and with a link redirect to coranto login screen...

this solution look not very profesional but i don't have other choice...

..to bad this story about limitation of username..

bye..

xxx
Thanks in advance and best regards

Dotcom22
dotcom22_
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 11:52 am

Postby faithless » Tue Jul 15, 2003 11:11 am

you're the one who has to add them to the coranto user db.
so you can just explain to them why...
faithless
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 4:17 pm
Location: Infront of the Computer

Previous

Return to Coranto 2.0 Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron